Main content

City Council

The Essex Junction City Council is the governing legislative body for the Municipality of the City of Essex Junction. The five-member board is elected at large within the City. After each Annual Meeting, one member of the City Council is elected by the other members to the office of City Council President. The City Council President is the Chairperson of the City Council and presides at the City Council meetings. The three-year terms of the City Council are staggered to provide continuity.

Additional information about the City Council and Open Meeting Laws:

Board Members & Contact Information

MembersEmailPhoneTerm Expires
Raj Chawla, Presidentrchawla@ essexjunction.org2025
Amber Thibeault, Vice Presidentathibeault@ 233-53862024
Marcus Certa, Clerkmcerta@ essexjunction.org2026
Andrew P. Brown abrown@ 598-81622024
Elaine Haneyehaney@ essexjunction.org2026


Regular meetings of the City Council are generally on the second and fourth Wednesday of each month and are held in the meeting room at the City municipal office building at 2 Lincoln Street in Essex Junction, or via remote access. (See the municipal calendar). The public is invited to attend and may address the board or ask questions during a special “public to be heard” section at the beginning of each meeting.

The City Council may hold special meetings to develop budgets, deal with personnel or contractual issues, or to extend public information sessions. All City Council meetings are warned  in advance. Official warnings appear on announcement boards in the lobbies of the City office and the Brownell Library. Meeting warnings are also posted on this website.

Upcoming Meetings

Access upcoming meeting documents by clicking on the meeting.

Email Subscription

Would you like to receive an email when new agendas or minutes are posted?

Subscribe to Document Updates