Planning Commission

The Planning Commission writes and revises Essex Junction’s Comprehensive Plan, which is the overarching document that embodies the city’s strategic vision and long-term growth objectives. Within that framework, the Commission also formulates changes to the City’s Land Development Code and Zoning Regulations, which contain the rules and technical specifications that builders and developers must follow to have their projects approved.

The Planning Commission has five members and typically meets once a month except when project workloads require additional meetings. Members must be residents of the City of Essex Junction, soon-to-be City of Essex Junction. All meetings take place in the early evening and usually last 2-3 hours. Meetings are held live at Lincoln Hall, but Commission members currently have the option of attending online. Meetings are televised and open to the public. Commission members are appointed to three-year terms by the Essex Junction Trustees/City Council.

For community members interested in applying: previous experience with community planning or policymaking is desirable but not necessary. Indispensable requirements for the position include:

  1. A genuine and thoughtful interest in the long-term welfare of the entire Essex Junction Community.
  2. An openness to learning about the municipal planning process.
  3. A willingness to collaborate with other Commission members and engage in constructive, common-ground problem-solving.

Also desirable is a sufficient computer skills and capacity to receive and review meeting-related documents prior to meetings and a sincere commitment to attend meetings and prepare for them ahead of time.

All positions receive a $50 per meeting stipend to provide financial assistance for your participation. 

For new applicants, please tell us why you are interested in joining the committee, what education, experiences, and background you bring to the committee, and what you hope to accomplish during your term. For current members wishing to be re-appointed, please tell us why you want to be re-appointed, what you have enjoyed about your time, what your committee has accomplished, and what you hope to accomplish in another term. You can complete these questions in the following form:

Join City Planning Commission meetings via Zoom

Phone/audio only option

Click on the phone icon, or:

Dial 1(888) 788-0099 (toll free)
Meeting ID: 953 1240 7791
Passcode: 040339

One tap mobile: +18887880099,,953124047791#,,,,*040339# US

The City welcomes your questions, concerns and suggestions.  Please feel free to contact the Community Development Department at the email or phone number listed on this page.

If you wish to discuss a concern with the Planning Commission, the best way to do this is to attend a Planning Commission meeting. Please call the Community Development Department at 878-6950 and speak to either Robin Pierce or Terry Hass if you wish to register a concern or if you have a question about development applications within the City.

Staff Report & Current Applications

June 30, 2022

2022 Minutes

Email Subscription

Would you like to receive an email when new agendas or minutes are posted?
Subscribe to Document Updates

Commission Members and Contact Information

John Alden, Chair

Diane Clemens

Andrew Boutin

Patrick Scheld

Philip Batalion

Email:  pc@   Emails to this address will be distributed anonymously in hard copy to all members of the Commission.

Robin Pierce, Staff Representative -  802-878-6950, robin@