Board of Trustees

The Essex Junction Trustees is the governing, legislative body for the Municipality of the Village of Essex Junction. The five-member board is elected at large within the Village. After each Annual Meeting, one of the Trustees is elected by the other Trustees to the office of Village President.  The Village President is the Chairperson of the Board of Trustees and presides at the Trustee meetings. The three-year terms of the Trustees are staggered to provide continuity.

Board Members & Contact Information

George A. Tyler, Village President gtyler@ 802-310-8215
Elaine H. Sopchak, Vice President esopchak@ 802-324-2546
Daniel S. Kerin dkerin@ 802-879-8343
Lori A. Houghton lhoughton@ 802-879-6701
Andrew P. Brown abrown@ 802-598-8162

The Village Trustees welcome your questions, concerns and suggestions.  Please feel free to contact any Trustee at the email or phone number listed on this page.

Please be aware that the Trustees are not able to respond to emails as a group.  If you send an email to all five Trustees, it is mostly likely you will receive a response from only one Trustee.  This is because there are laws that prevent elected officials from conducting business outside of a public meeting.  Responding to a group email is an example of this.

If you wish to discuss a concern with the entire Board of Trustees, the best way to do this is either to contact the Village Manager to have your concern placed on an upcoming meeting agenda, or to attend a Board of Trustees meeting and address the Board at the beginning of the meeting.

To put an item on a Board agenda, call the Village office at 878-6944 and speak to either Patty Benoit or Village Manager Pat Scheidel.  To speak to the Board of Trustees at a meeting, be there when the meeting starts (usually at 6:30 p.m.)  Immediately after the Pledge of Allegiance, the Village President will ask the audience if anyone wants to speak about something that isn't on the agenda.  That's when you can bring up your concern.

Email Subscription

Would you like to receive an email when new agendas or minutes are posted?
Subscribe to Document Updates

Meeting Agenda and Items

    Summary of Last Meeting

    The Village Trustees met on Tuesday, February 28th.  Highlights from the meeting include:

    -Charlie Baker, Executive Director of the Chittenden County Regional Planning Commission, gave a presentation to the Trustees on the possibility of a regional dispatch service.  
    -Max Levy, Chair of the Essex Selectboard, gave a presentation to the Trustees on the FYE18 Town of Essex budget.  
    -The Trustees expressed support for establishing an Essex Junction Neighbors Day.
    -The Trustees decided to discuss utilizing the penny on the tax rate (approved at the 2016 Annual Village Meeting) at their retreat this spring.
    -The Trustees voted to allow the ACE program to continue rent free for two years in the Park Street School, provided that voters decide to transfer this property to the Village.
    -The Trustees approved and signed the Annual Meeting Warning.  
    -Aaron Martin, Essex Utilities Director/Town Engineer, presented on the Champlain Water District finance policy.
    -Community Relations/Economic Development Assistant Darby Mayville presented on a proposed Community Development brochure.  Edits will be made and the document will be re-presented to the Trustees at their next meeting.
    -The Trustees reviewed and approved the Trustees Report for the 2016 Village Annual Report.
    -The Trustees reviewed and approved a resident survey.  This will be included in the Village Annual Report, and sent to all Village households.  All residents are encouraged to complete and return this survey.
    -The Trustees voted to add a $25 fee for returned checks and other forms of payment due to insufficient funds.

    The meeting can be viewed in full here.

    Archive of Minutes

    Most meetings are available to watch on